Christmas: Facing Christmas

This poem touched me. I have no idea if it’s still in print or in copyright. All I know is that it’s by Grace Noll Crowell and it appeared in a collection in 1940. I really love it.

I shall attend to my little errands of love early this year,

So that the brief days before Christmas may be

 Unhampered and clear

Of the fever of hurry. The breathless rushing

      that I have known in the past

Shall not possess me. I shall be calm in my soul

And ready at last

For Christmas;

I shall have leisure– I shall go out alone

From my roof and my door;

I shall not miss the silver silence of stars

As I have before;

And, oh, perhaps– If I stand there very still,

And very long–

I shall hear what the clamor of living has kept from me;

The Angels’ song!

Leave a Reply

